Orrets Meadow's Curriculum

Orrets Meadow Curriculum Aims and Values


To ensure all our children are at the centre of a broad, varied and interesting learning experience that is enjoyable and relevant for the future. Our creative, multisensory curriculum will create a sense of awe and wonder and help to inspire a lifelong love of learning. The holistic nature of our practice will promote positive mental health and well-being and will enhance our children’s life skills, social skills and cultural awareness.



Our curriculum will promote a range of values including:

  •  respect                         
  •  happiness
  •  resilience
  •  honesty
  •  friendship 
  • responsibility
  • empathy
  • equality
  • independence
  • gratitude

 National Curriculum

From September 2014 a new National Curriculum was introduced for primary schools. Teachers have worked hard devising a new curriculum, which is progressive in skills, meets the national requirements and meets the needs of the pupils who attend Orrets Meadow. 

The national changes affect all curriculum areas with children expected to reach higher standards in Maths and English. Below you can see the expectations for each year group. As many of the children who attend Orrets Meadow have literacy and/or numeracy difficulties, they are likely to be working below the expectations for their age range and so may not be working at their correct age curriculum. 

The English Curriculum
The curriculum for English is knowledge-based; this means it's focus is on knowing facts as well as developing skills and understanding. There is an increased emphasis on the technical aspects of language. English is set out year by year in Key Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2) and two-yearly in Key Stage 2 (Years 3 and 4 and Years 5 and 6). There is specific content to be covered in the areas of spelling and vocabulary, grammar and punctuation. These are set out for each year group across both key stages. Mastery of English skills, both in Reading and Writing, are a priority at Orrets.

Phonics at Orrets Meadow

At Orrets Meadow we teach our own discrete phonics programme which we call the 'Core Programmes for Literacy'. Children with Dyslexia have barriers to learning learning phonics. We find a structured programme, with lots of opportunities for overlearning, delivered in a multisensory approach, enables children to most effectively progress with phonics.  We have attached an outline of our phonics programme at the bottom.

Year 1 pupils sit the National Phonics Screening check if we feel it is appropriate to their ability. Pupils are given the chance to sit the phonics screening check again in Year 2.

The Maths Curriculum
The main areas in the Mathematics curriculum are number, measurement, geometry, statistics, ratio and proportion and algebra. The way that the curriculum is organised varies across the primary age range - every year group has its own programme of study detailing what the children should be able to achieve in each area. The changes for number present a significant increase in the level of challenge. Problem solving occurs in all areas of the Mathematics curriculum. Mastery of Maths is a focus for the school. We are using the White Rose Hub to support us with our planning.

The Science Curriculum
The curriculum for Science puts a greater focus on acquiring scientific knowledge, and less emphasis on developing scientific skills and understanding. The scientific enquiry strand, now called working scientifically, is taught throughout each topic. The content of the Science curriculum needs to be covered by the end of the relevant key stage rather than being specified for each year group.

There have been significant changes in the curriculum for History. In KS1 children learn about the lives of significant people and will be expected to have a growing sense of historical understanding. In KS2 there is an emphasis on developing chronology with the children studying History up to 1066. In addition to this schools  include special studies which will extend their knowledge and understanding beyond 1066. 

Previously children have studied ICT (Information and Communication Technology), now it is referred to as Computing. The emphasis in the Computing curriculum is on the children being able to use and understand programming, develop their digital literacy as well as their understanding of safe internet use. ICT will still be used across all subjects in order to enhance and develop the children's learning.

In addition to changes in the curriculum there have also been changes in the systems for assessment. The old system of levels has been removed and not replaced. Orrets Meadow's system for assessment are described on the website, under assessment.